United Dioceses of Dublin & Glendalough



Dr Donald Caird Awarded 2010 Pearse Award for Advancement of the Irish language

The former Archbishop of Dublin, the Right Reverend Dr Donald Caird, was the recipient of the prestigious 2010 Pearse Award at a ceremony in Cultúrlann na Éireann, Monkstown, Co. Dublin, on Thursday 22 April.

As Dr Caird was unable to attend due to illness the trophy  was presented by Mr Pat Carey, TD, Minister for Community Affairs, Equality and the Gaeltacht, to Mrs Nancy Caird.

The award was first made in 1980. Past recipients include Adi Roche, founder of the Chernobyl Children’s Project; the distinguished educationalist Helen Ó Murchú, and the poet and dramatist Professor Séan Ó Tuama.

Speaking at the ceremony the Minister said that Dr Caird had been chosen to receive the award in recognition of all the work he had done to advance the Irish language. Since his first visit to the Gaeltacht in the 1940s he had been a strong supporter of the language and Irish culture. For over fifty years he had taken services regularly in Irish. He also served as a member of Foras na Gaeilge during the period Dr TK Whittaker was chairman.

Amongst those present at the ceremony were Senator Labrás Ó Murchú, chairman of Fondúireacht an Phiarsaigh, the awarding body; Dr Kenneth Milne, the Church of Ireland Historiographer, Professor Nicholas Williams, and Aonghus Dwane, Dr Caird’s biographer. Members of Cumann Gaelach na hEaglaise, (the Irish Guild of the Church) present included the Revd Canon Mark Gardner, the Revd David Oxley and Ms. Eileen McCracken.

The Rt Revd Dr Donald Caird, Former Archbishop of Dublin
The Rt Revd Dr Donald Caird, Former Archbishop of Dublin

This site uses cookies for general analytics but not for advertising purposes. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.